Policy Board

The voting membership of the HRMPO is composed of the twelve representatives, or their alternatives, designated by and representing their respective jurisdictions or agencies; five representatives from the City of Harrisonburg; three representatives from Rockingham County; one representative from the Town of Bridgewater; one representative from the Town of Dayton; one representative from the Town of Mt. Crawford; and a state representative designated by and empowered to participate on behalf of the Secretary of Transportation. According to the Bylaws, nonvoting membership of the HRMPO includes one representative designated by and representing each of the following agencies: Federal Highway Administration; Federal Transit Administration; Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation; Virginia Department of Aviation; and any other agencies or groups as may be agreed upon by a majority of all voting representatives of the HRMPO. The HRMPO has agreed to give a non-voting membership to an official representing James Madison University.

It is the function of the Policy Board to act as a policy body coordinating transportation planning and related implementation activities within the metropolitan area. The Board must approve all agreements.

The Policy Board adheres to and abides by the HRMPO Bylaws.





Meetings of the Policy Board are held the third Thursday of the month as needed at the Rockingham County Administration Center, unless otherwise advertised.